Copper CowBelles President’s Report 2017

The Grant County Copper CowBelles started the year with Patricia E. Hunt as President, Judy O’Loughlin, Vice President, Rosella Escobedo, Secretary and Beverly Medford as Treasurer.

Downtown Silver City has a February event known as Chocolate Fantasia and this year the theme was “Wild Wild West”.  Copper was invited to set up a display inside the Market Café.  We distributed beef educational information and sold some of our new cookbooks.  During our February meeting we began planning for our annual fundraiser Shindig dinner dance.

In March we had a work day at our storeroom to inventory supplies and decorations for the Shindig.  Five members attended the District III meeting held in Deming.  The Shindig was held April 22nd with a silent auction and the Yarbrough Band playing great country music.  Attendance was good and the Shoofly print created a bidding war between local business people and finally brought $1000 for our scholarship fund!  Several of us helped with McKeen Ranch Days in Alma for two days the last of the month.

In May we helped Farm Bureau celebrate 100 years in New Mexico by helping with a BBQ held at Tractor Supply Company and in June with a pancake breakfast held by the rodeo group.  This was two opportunities to sell cookbooks.

June is Beef month and we gave money to grocery shoppers who were purchasing beef at the local store.  President Pat attended the Mid-Year Meeting in Ruidoso.

September brought the Grant County Fair and we had our usual booth and beef giveaway.  We sold “NM Beef is Great” license plates and sold enough cookbooks to pay the printing charges and start making a profit.  The Grant County Cattlegrowers purchased a steer at the Junior Livestock Sale.  This was processed with money provided by Copper.  The meat is distributed to home economic teachers in our local schools.  Copper also donated to the San Lorenzo School Backpack program.  Children from certain families are sent home with food for the weekend.  Our donation was for the purchase of beef jerky.

In October we elected our 2018 officers:

  • President:  Deborah van Tellingen
  • VP: Annette George
  • Secretary: Linda Pecotte
  • Treasurer: Mary Hudson

Submitted:  by Pat Hunt, President